An exclusive (and historical) window over Florence: San Niccolò tower
The tower of San Niccolò, even though it is not a tower as it is a leading part of the walls of Florence and only because of its massive and slender shape is called tower, is the only Florentine door that retains its original height.
The name derives from the neighborhood where it is located, San Niccolò, it was built in 1324 and designed by Andrea di Cione di Arcangelo nicknamed the Orcagna, painter, sculptor and architect active in Florence from 1343.
The access and the visit of the tower is permitted only with a guided tour from June 24th, 2016 to September 30th, 2016. The tour offers a narrative in several stages, which runs from the arch on the ground floor up to the top of the structure, which allows us to reconstruct the historical events with particular attention to the defensive and commercial functions that the tower had. Once at the top, you can enjoy a breathtaking view of Florence.
The visit lasts 30 minutes, every day from 24/06 to 30/09, from 4 pm till 7 pm. The ticket price is 4.00 € per person. For further information and reservations, please visit http://musefirenze.it/en/attivita/visita-guidata-torre-san-niccolo/